Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) Lands

The Anangu people linked by their languages of Pitjantjatjara and Yankunytjatjara are known collectively as the APY Lands (Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara). They are incorporated by the 1981 Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Rights Act whereby the SA Parliament gave Aboriginal people title to more than 103,000 sq km of arid land in the northwest of South Australia.

The main communities on the Lands include: Amata, Indulkana, Kaltjiti, Mimili, Pipalyatjara, Pukatja, and Watarru. There are several homelands as well, the larger ones being Kalka, Kanpi, Nyapari and Yunyarinyi. The APY region produces a diverse range of artwork. Work from this region is represented in many public institutions and prominent private collections both nationally and internationally.